Is Boostcamp Pro Worth It? The AI Coach at $59.99 a Year

Key takeaways

  • Boostcamp Pro is $14.99 a month with no trial, or $59.99 a year with a 7-day free trial. There is no lifetime plan (boostcamp.app/pro, verified 2026-10-03).
  • Boostcamp's free tier includes 11,000+ programs, most of its 130+ coach-designed ones, the full tracker and an uncapped program builder, with no ads. Most lifters do not need Pro.
  • The AI coach is Pro-only. It is a questionnaire with 4 inputs (goal, experience, weekly schedule, equipment) that generates a starter multi-week plan you can edit.
  • Over 36 months Pro costs $179.97 billed yearly or $539.64 billed monthly. Trunk+ is $9.99 once and connects the ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini account you already have to your logged sets.
  • Boostcamp has 4.8 stars from 10,408 US App Store ratings and an Android app. Trunk is Apple-only, has 1 rating and ships no program library.

Boostcamp Pro is worth it for a narrow group: intermediate and advanced lifters who will use its analytics or its 20+ exclusive coach programs, and who pay $59.99 a year instead of $14.99 a month. For most other lifters the answer is no, because Boostcamp's free tier already includes the 11,000+ program library, the full tracker and an uncapped program builder. Over 36 months Pro costs $179.97 billed yearly or $539.64 billed monthly. Prices verified 2026-10-03 on Boostcamp's Pro page; the totals are our arithmetic.

The AI coach gets the closest look here. It is a Pro-only questionnaire that generates a starter multi-week plan. ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini will write a plan from the same answers on a free plan. Connect that assistant to your logged sets and it plans from your real numbers instead of four answers. That is what Trunk does, for $9.99 once, and it is our answer for anyone looking at Pro mainly for the AI.

Disclosure: we make Trunk, a different workout tracker. Trunk's logger is free, and Trunk+ is a $9.99 one-time purchase (App Store listing) that connects ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini to your logged sets. Its limits are plain: Apple devices only with no Android app, no program library, no exercise demos, no Apple Watch app, no export button, and one App Store rating. Trunk has nothing like Boostcamp's free program library, and for many readers the right answer is to use Boostcamp free and pay for nothing.

How much does Boostcamp Pro cost?

PlanPriceBilledFree trial
Boostcamp (free tier)$0NeverNot needed; no time limit
Pro, annual$59.99/yr (Boostcamp shows it as $4.99/mo)Once a year7 days
Pro, monthly$14.99/moEvery monthNone
Pro, lifetimeNot offeredn/an/a

USD, verified 2026-10-03 on Boostcamp's Pro page, which says pricing is the same on iOS and Android. That there is no lifetime plan is stated on Boostcamp's budget apps page and in its Hevy comparison.

The 7-day trial is on the annual plan only. Cancel within it and you are not charged. Cancelling runs through your Apple ID or Google Play subscription settings; Pro stays active until the end of the paid period, then the account returns to free with your training data kept (source, read 2026-10-03).

The $4.99 figure is the annual price divided by twelve, charged as one $59.99 payment. Month to month the price is $14.99, three times as much. Four months of monthly billing comes to $59.96, so anyone keeping Pro longer than four months pays less on the annual plan (source, 2026-10-03; arithmetic ours).

The App Store shows more prices than Boostcamp's site. On 2026-10-03 the US App Store listing showed ten in-app purchases: Boostcamp Pro at $59.99, $14.99, $11.99, $69.99 and $79.99, plus a Limited-Time Offer at $48.99, none with a billing period. Only $14.99 and $59.99 appear on Boostcamp's own pages, which do not explain the rest, so those two are the prices we use.

What does Boostcamp Pro cost over one, two and three years?

Setup12 months24 months36 months
Boostcamp free$0$0$0
Boostcamp Pro, billed yearly$59.99$119.98$179.97
Boostcamp Pro, billed monthly$179.88$359.76$539.64
Trunk+ plus an assistant you already have$9.99$9.99$9.99

USD. Boostcamp Pro prices verified 2026-10-03 on Boostcamp's Pro page. Trunk+ at $9.99 one-time is our own price (App Store listing). The last row assumes $0 for the assistant; the free plans of ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini were $0 on 2026-10-03. Totals are our arithmetic at today's prices, before tax.

The cheapest row is the first one, and for many readers it is the right one. Between the two Pro rows, monthly billing costs $359.67 more over 36 months for the same features.

The Trunk row assumes the assistant costs you nothing extra, because you use a free plan or already pay for one for other reasons. If you would subscribe only to plan your training, the math reverses: ChatGPT Plus is $20 a month, $240 a year, four times Boostcamp Pro's annual price (verified 2026-10-03, source). The wider market is in what AI fitness apps cost over 12 months.

What do you get with Boostcamp for free?

A lot. Boostcamp's pages list the following in the free tier, with no time limit and no ads (features page, free app page, tracker page, read 2026-10-03).

  • Programs. More than 11,000, including most of the 130+ written by named coaches such as Eric Helms, Alberto Nuñez, Cody Lefever and Jim Wendler. nSuns 5/3/1, GZCLP, PHUL, 5/3/1 Boring But Big and Reddit PPL are all marked free. The library filters by experience level, goal and days per week.
  • The tracker. Sets, reps and weight, a rest timer, a plate calculator, RPE and RIR fields on every set, supersets, drop sets, warm-up templates, exercise demos, and mid-workout exercise swaps that carry your weights over.
  • Progress. Personal records for max weight, max volume and max reps, estimated 1RM curves, a report every Sunday and a year-end recap.
  • Your own programs. A builder in the app and a desktop Web Program Creator, both free, with no cap on how many programs you make. Multi-week blocks, custom exercises and sharing by link are included.

Boostcamp names one free-tier limit: a cap on saved workout templates, which are single-session saves and separate from full programs. Its page does not give the number (source).

This is the strongest part of Boostcamp, and Trunk ships zero programs. If you want a proven program from a known coach and an app that runs it, Boostcamp free does that for $0.

What does Boostcamp Pro add?

Boostcamp's Pro page lists five additions. A sixth appeared in the App Store release notes on 2026-10-02.

Pro featureWhat it isDoes Boostcamp call it AI?
Strength ScoreOne number from 0 to 100 built from your best squat, bench press, deadlift, overhead press and row, adjusted for bodyweight with the IPF DOTS formulaNo
Per-muscle volume heatmapBody diagrams shaded by weekly volume for each muscle group, over 7 days, 30 days, 90 days or a yearNo
20+ exclusive coach programsCoach-written programs outside the free library, for peaking, hypertrophy and competition prepNo
Personalized programsA questionnaire that generates a starter multi-week planYes: AI Coach on the App Store, AI Program Builder on the homepage
Advanced exercise analyticsPer-exercise volume trends, intensity distribution, frequency by muscle, and RPE drift across blocksNo
Auto ProgressionWeight targets that adjust to your performance, in programs and in empty workoutsNo

First five rows from Boostcamp's Pro page (marked as updated May 2026), read 2026-10-03. Auto Progression from the version 266 release notes, dated 2026-10-02, on the US App Store listing. The last column records Boostcamp's wording, not how the features are built.

Auto Progression needs a caveat. The release notes mark it Pro, while Boostcamp's website, written before that release, describes weights adjusting automatically inside programs with no Pro label (tracker page, Hevy comparison). Neither source explains how the two relate, so check what the free app already does for your program before paying for this.

One Pro feature in six is the AI one. The Pro page presents Pro as an analytics layer for intermediate and advanced lifters, and says beginners can run the free programs without it.

What does the Boostcamp AI coach actually do?

The feature has three names: AI Coach on the App Store, AI Program Builder on the homepage, and personalized programs on the Pro page. Boostcamp's Hevy comparison lists personalized programs, marked Pro, as its AI workout generator, which ties the three together (read 2026-10-03). The Pro page says the builder is Pro-only. The App Store description does not mention a tier.

What it asks. Four things in a short questionnaire: your goal, experience, weekly schedule and equipment (Pro page).

What it produces. Boostcamp's phrase is a "starter periodization plan": a multi-week block in the same tracker you log in, which you can edit, run and revise for the next block.

What Boostcamp's pages do not say it does

  • Chat. No page describes typing a request in your own words or asking follow-up questions. The Hevy comparison sets Boostcamp's questionnaire against a tool that works from a natural-language prompt.
  • Reading your log. The only inputs Boostcamp names are the four questionnaire answers. No page we read says the builder looks at your logged sets. Not stated is different from cannot.
  • Re-planning as you go. Boostcamp's JuggernautAI comparison describes JuggernautAI's pre-session adjustments as more continuously adaptive than its own feature, and its RP Hypertrophy comparison says it does not replicate RP's algorithm, which changes weekly volume and load from logged feedback.
  • What runs underneath. Boostcamp names no model and does not say whether a language model is involved. The RP comparison calls the feature an algorithmic option.

Within those limits the feature is useful: a few taps produce a structured block inside the app that already holds your log, with less effort than writing a good prompt.

Can ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini do the same job?

From a description alone

Yes, for the part the questionnaire covers. Goal, experience, schedule and equipment are four things you can type. Any of the three assistants will turn them into a multi-week program, with sets, reps, a progression rule and a deload if you ask for them, and all three have a $0 plan (verified 2026-10-03: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini). You can then ask for changes in plain language. Two limits apply: the assistant knows only what you tell it, so its starting loads are guesses, and the result is text in a chat window that still has to get into a tracker.

Boostcamp's homepage features a user review that rates its library above asking ChatGPT for a program. That is fair. A program written by the coach who designed the method is a safer bet than one generated on request.

With your real log

The plan gets better when the assistant can see what you have lifted. It can set starting loads from logged sets, find the lifts that have stopped moving, count weekly sets per muscle group, and notice what you program but skip. A one-word experience level carries none of that.

Can an outside assistant read your Boostcamp data?

What Boostcamp's own pages say, read 2026-10-03:

  • Export: not stated. The features, Pro, tracker and free-app pages and the App Store listing do not describe exporting your workout history. The privacy policy describes a data portability right for people covered by privacy law, exercised by contacting support.
  • API: not stated. No page mentions a public API or a developer key.
  • Importing an AI-written plan: not offered. You can type the plan into the free builder, in the app or in the desktop Web Program Creator, which costs time and nothing else. Other routes are in how to import a ChatGPT workout plan into a tracker.
  • An official ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini integration: none described.

One unofficial route exists: a community MCP server on GitHub that gives Claude Desktop and Claude Code read access to a Boostcamp account. Its README says it is built on Boostcamp's private API and has you store an account credential on your own computer (repository, read 2026-10-03). It is not a Boostcamp product.

How to do it with Trunk and the assistant you already have

Trunk runs no AI of its own. It gives your assistant a private link to your logged sets, and the assistant plans.

  1. Open Trunk, go to Settings, tap the Trunk+ row and open Connect AI.
  2. Tap Generate Key, then Copy Prompt. The prompt holds your private data link and instructions for the assistant.
  3. Paste it into ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini or any other assistant that can open a web link. In Claude, switch on web search from the plus button first.
  4. The assistant opens the link and reads your log: every program, day, exercise and set, with reps, weight, notes and timestamp.
  5. Ask for a program. The reply contains one import link. Tap it, check the program on the confirmation page, and tap Add to Trunk.
  6. Tap Revoke Key to kill the link. Generating a new key also cancels the old one.

What comes back into the app is deliberately narrow. The assistant can create a program, add days to one, or add exercises to a day. It never writes sets, reps or weights into Trunk. Its recommended loads and rep targets stay in the chat, and you log what you lift. Boostcamp's generated block sits in its tracker as a multi-week plan, so more of the plan lives in the app there. Trunk's log, in exchange, only holds sets you did.

Two more things. The link works like a password: anyone holding it can read your workout data until you revoke the key. And a new Trunk account has no history to read, so early answers will be thin unless you add older sets by hand with Retroactive Sets, also part of Trunk+.

Prompts to paste after the Trunk prompt

Open my Trunk link and list the programs and days you found.
Then tell me which lifts have not gone up in the last 8 weeks,
with the dates and weights behind each call.
Build me an 8-week, 4-day upper/lower program for a full gym,
60 minutes a session. Base starting loads on sets I logged.
State the progression rule and when to deload.
Then send the program back as a Trunk import link.
Count my weekly hard sets per muscle group over the last 4 weeks.
What is my program lacking? If the log cannot answer, say so.
I am away for 2 weeks with dumbbells up to 50 lb.
Add a travel day to my current program covering the same
muscle groups, and send it as an import link.

Start with the first one: making the assistant list what it found confirms it opened the link, a step ChatGPT sometimes skips. Longer templates are in our Claude and Gemini prompt guide.

Boostcamp free vs Boostcamp Pro vs Trunk with your own assistant

 Boostcamp freeBoostcamp ProTrunk + your assistant
Price$0$14.99/mo or $59.99/yr; no lifetime plan$9.99 one-time for Trunk+; no subscription exists
Program library11,000+ programs, most of the 130+ coach-designed onesAdds 20+ exclusive coach programsNone
AI program buildingNo; the manual builder is free with no capYes: a questionnaire generates a starter multi-week planYes: the assistant writes it and sends an import link you confirm
Which assistantsn/aBoostcamp's own; model not statedChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, or anything else that opens a link
AI reads your logged historyn/aNot statedYes, every logged set
What the AI puts in the appn/aA multi-week plan in the trackerDays and exercises only; sets, reps and loads stay in the chat
AnalyticsPersonal records, estimated 1RM curves, weekly reportAdds Strength Score, per-muscle heatmap, advanced exercise analyticsGraphs per exercise and goal progress; the rest is what you ask the assistant
Export or APINot statedNot statedNo export button; the Connect AI link (Trunk+) can also return JSON
PlatformsiPhone, iPad, Apple Vision, Android; desktop tool for building programsSameiPhone, iPad, Mac (Apple silicon), Apple Vision. No Android
US App Store rating4.8 from 10,408 ratingsSame app5.0 from 1 rating (new app)

USD. Boostcamp prices and features verified 2026-10-03 on its Pro, features and tracker pages; platforms from the App Store listing; ratings from Apple's lookup API, where Boostcamp's average is 4.85. Trunk+ at $9.99 one-time is our own price (App Store listing). Boostcamp's pages disagree about an Apple Watch companion, so that row is left out; Trunk has no Watch app.

Where Boostcamp wins and where Trunk wins

Boostcamp wins on

  • The program library: 11,000+ programs, most of the 130+ coach-designed ones, free. Trunk has none.
  • Depth of the free tracker: RPE and RIR fields, supersets, warm-up templates and exercise demos. Trunk has no supersets, no warm-up calculator and no exercise library.
  • Ready-made analytics: Pro's Strength Score and volume heatmap need no prompting.
  • Platforms: Android as well as iPhone and iPad.
  • Track record: 4.8 from 10,408 US App Store ratings, on the App Store since October 2020 (Apple's lookup API, 2026-10-03).

Trunk with your own assistant wins on

  • Price shape: $9.99 once, against $179.97 for three years of Pro at $59.99 a year (verified 2026-10-03).
  • Assistant choice: ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, or anything else that opens a link.
  • Your history as the input: the assistant reads every logged set, where a questionnaire takes four answers.
  • Open-ended requests: ask why a lift stalled, ask for a chart, ask again next month at no extra cost.

Two honest concessions on the Trunk side. First, reach and age. Trunk is Apple-only, with no Android app and no Apple Watch app, and 5.0 from a single rating is not social proof.

Second, Trunk gives you nothing to start from: no program library, no exercise demos, no AI of its own. How good the plan is depends on the assistant and your prompt, and nobody at Trunk checks it. Boostcamp's coach programs were written by people who train lifters for a living.

Who should pick which?

Stay on Boostcamp free

You want a proven program and an app that runs it. Pick 5/3/1, GZCLP or a coach's block from the free library and train. You do not need Pro, Trunk or an AI.

You are new to lifting, or on Android. Boostcamp's own Pro page says beginners can run the free programs without Pro, and Trunk has no Android app.

Pay for Boostcamp Pro

You will look at the analytics every week. If a Strength Score, a per-muscle heatmap and RPE trends would change how you plan your next block, Pro is built for you. Take the annual plan at $59.99 with the 7-day trial, and cancel inside the week if you did not open those screens (source, 2026-10-03). Paying $14.99 a month for the same features makes little sense past four months.

You want one of the 20+ Pro-only coach programs, or a plan generated inside the app with no prompting. The questionnaire is quicker than a chat, and the block lands in the tracker ready to log.

Pick Trunk and your own assistant

You already use ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini most days and you are on iPhone. You want it to plan from your real numbers, and to ask again whenever something changes.

The AI coach is the part of Pro you want. Trunk is the better buy. It is $9.99 once against $59.99 every year, your assistant plans from every set you have logged where the questionnaire takes four answers, and you can ask again whenever your training changes. If you only want a one-off plan that is not based on your own numbers, a free assistant will write one and you can type it into Boostcamp's free builder.

You do not want another subscription. Trunk+ is $9.99 once, and Trunk sells nothing else.

For the general routes, how to connect ChatGPT to a workout tracker puts official integrations, export-and-paste and plain links side by side.

Frequently asked questions

How much is Boostcamp Pro?

Boostcamp Pro is $14.99 a month with no trial, or $59.99 a year with a 7-day free trial. Boostcamp shows the annual plan as $4.99 a month. Pricing is the same on iOS and Android, and there is no lifetime plan. Verified 2026-10-03 on boostcamp.app/pro.

Is Boostcamp free?

Yes. The free tier includes 11,000+ programs, most of the 130+ coach-designed ones, the full workout tracker with RPE and RIR logging, personal records, weekly reports and a program builder with no cap. Boostcamp says it has no time limit and no ads.

Is Boostcamp Pro worth it?

For most lifters, no, because the free tier already covers programs and tracking. Pro is worth $59.99 a year if you will use the Strength Score, the per-muscle volume heatmap, the advanced analytics or one of the 20+ exclusive coach programs. It is hard to justify at $14.99 a month, or if the AI coach is the only feature you want.

What does the Boostcamp AI coach do?

It is a Pro-only questionnaire. You answer questions about your goal, experience, weekly schedule and equipment, and Boostcamp generates a starter multi-week plan in the tracker that you can edit. Boostcamp's pages do not describe a chat, and do not say the builder reads your logged history.

Does Boostcamp Pro have a free trial, and how do I cancel?

The annual plan has a 7-day free trial; the monthly plan has none. You cancel through your Apple ID or Google Play subscription settings. Boostcamp says Pro stays active until the end of the billing period, then the account returns to the free tier with your training data kept.

Can I export my Boostcamp data?

Boostcamp's feature pages and App Store listing do not describe an export or a public API, as read on 2026-10-03. Its privacy policy describes a data portability right that people covered by privacy law can exercise by contacting support, which is a request and not an in-app export.

Does Boostcamp work with ChatGPT?

Boostcamp describes no integration with ChatGPT, Claude or Gemini. You can type an AI-written plan into its free program builder, in the app or on desktop. A community-built MCP server for Claude exists on GitHub, but it is unofficial and not a Boostcamp product.

Is there a one-time or lifetime price for Boostcamp Pro?

No. Boostcamp's own comparison pages say Pro is offered monthly or annually with no lifetime plan. Three years of Pro costs $179.97 billed yearly or $539.64 billed monthly. Trunk+, a different product, is $9.99 one-time.