HevyGPT vs Trunk Connect AI: Two Ways to Put AI on Your Lifts
Key takeaways
- Free Hevy holds four routines, and Hevy says a plan with more than four unique workouts will not import at all.
- HevyGPT is ChatGPT-only and does not run in the Android ChatGPT app; Trunk Connect AI is a URL any assistant can open.
- Hevy Pro is $2.99/mo, $23.99/yr or $74.99 one-time; Trunk+ is $9.99 one-time and Trunk sells no subscription anywhere.
- Hevy is far more mature: 4.9 from 91K US App Store ratings, plus Android, Wear OS and web. Trunk is Apple-only with 1 rating.
- Neither route needs a paid AI plan, because the free tiers of ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini are all $0.
If ChatGPT is your assistant and your split fits inside four routines, HevyGPT is the smoother option and costs nothing on the Hevy side. Trunk Connect AI at $9.99 one-time is the one that works for Claude and Gemini users, and for any program that runs to five or more routines. Everything below is the arithmetic and the caveats behind those two sentences.
HevyGPT is an official custom GPT that Hevy publishes inside ChatGPT: two-way, ChatGPT-only, and capped at four routines while your Hevy account is free. Trunk Connect AI is a private URL you paste into ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini or anything else that opens links, unlocked by a $9.99 one-time purchase, with no routine cap and no Android app.
Neither is the only route. Liftin' announced an MCP beta for ChatGPT and Claude on its official account on 2026-07-22 (source), and Hevy's public API — Pro-only, by Hevy's own docs — is what the community MCP servers are built on. These two are what a lifter can switch on today without third-party tooling, so these two are what this page compares.
What HevyGPT is, exactly
HevyGPT is a custom GPT that Hevy publishes and maintains inside ChatGPT. You turn it on from the app: Profile, then Settings, then Integrations, then Connect. With an active integration, ChatGPT can analyze your Hevy training history and recommend loads from it, and it can write a generated program back into your account, where it shows up as a folder in the Workout tab. Details verified 2026-09-07 from Hevy's HevyGPT page.
Getting started is cheap. Hevy Pro is not required, so a brand-new free account can connect on day one. What Hevy does not state is which ChatGPT plan you need — HevyGPT lives inside ChatGPT and you bring your own account there. OpenAI documents web search as available on the ChatGPT Free plan (source), but that is OpenAI's statement about search, not Hevy's statement about this integration.
Two things make it narrow. The integration exists for ChatGPT and nothing else; Hevy publishes no Claude or Gemini equivalent of HevyGPT. It also does not run in the Android ChatGPT app, and Hevy's guidance is to use the web version instead.
The four-routine wall
Free Hevy accounts hold four routines. Hevy states plainly on the HevyGPT page that a free account is limited to four and that a plan with more than four unique workouts cannot be imported — the whole import is blocked, not trimmed down to the first four. A four-day upper/lower fits. Six-day push/pull/legs does not, and neither does a plan with a deload week written as its own routine.
Other free-tier caps are worth knowing before you ask an AI to redesign your training: seven custom exercises, and stats history that stops at three months (Hevy's Pro subscription help article). Lifting the caps means Hevy Pro, at $2.99/mo, $23.99/yr, or $74.99 one-time on the US App Store, verified 2026-09-07 (source). A second monthly SKU at $3.99 is also listed on that page; Hevy publishes no explanation for it.
What Trunk Connect AI is, exactly
Trunk takes the opposite approach. Instead of one integration with one assistant, it generates a private web address that holds your training data and lets you paste it wherever you like.
Setting it up
- Open Trunk, go to Settings, tap the Trunk+ row, open Connect AI.
- Tap Generate Key. Trunk creates a random token and builds a ready-made prompt around it.
- Tap Copy Prompt. The prompt carries your data URL plus instructions that tell the assistant to fetch the page and list what it found before answering, because ChatGPT will otherwise answer from memory.
- Paste it wherever you actually work — Claude, Gemini, Perplexity, ChatGPT, anything that follows a link. Claude needs web search switched on from the plus menu before it will fetch.
- The assistant opens the link and reads your real logged sets. Ask it whatever you want about your training.
- For a program, ask the assistant to build one; the reply comes back as a single import link. Open that link, review the program on the confirmation page, tap Add to Trunk, and it lands in the app.
- Revoke Key kills the link whenever you want. Generating a new key invalidates the old one as well.
What the AI can read
The whole log: every profile, its sessions, each exercise, and every set with reps, weight, volume, notes, timestamp and the plate configuration you used. It can also narrow the request — one exercise, one profile, one session, or only the last five sets per exercise — which matters when a long history would otherwise fill an assistant's context window. Nobody has published a measured page size for a heavy Trunk log, so treat the narrowing options as the fix if an assistant complains rather than as a number you can plan around.
What the AI can write
Three actions, and only three: create a new program, add sessions to an existing program, or add exercises to an existing day. Caps per request are 20 sessions and 30 exercises per session, and it will not overwrite a profile you already have. The AI never writes sets, reps or weights. You log those in the gym, which keeps the training record honest and stops an assistant from inventing a workout you did not do.
Treat the link like a password
That URL is a bearer secret. Anyone holding it can read the workout data until you revoke the key. It carries no name and no email, and your profile names are whatever you called them, but this is a password, not a link you paste in a group chat.
HevyGPT vs Trunk Connect AI, side by side
| Feature | HevyGPT | Trunk Connect AI |
|---|---|---|
| Assistants supported | ChatGPT only | ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini, and anything else that opens a link |
| Direction | Reads history and writes routines, inside ChatGPT | Reads data at a URL; writes via a confirmation link you tap |
| Where you set it up | Hevy: Profile, Settings, Integrations, Connect | Trunk: Settings, Trunk+, Connect AI, Generate Key |
| Works on the app's free tier | Yes | No — Connect AI is part of Trunk+ |
| Assistant plan required | Not stated by Hevy | No — free assistant tiers can open links |
| Routine / program cap | 4 routines on free Hevy; a plan with more than 4 will not import | None — free Trunk has unlimited profiles, sessions and exercises |
| Price to lift the cap | Hevy Pro $2.99/mo, $23.99/yr, or $74.99 one-time, verified 2026-09-07 (source) | No cap to lift; Trunk+ is $9.99 one-time, verified 2026-09-07 (source) |
| Subscription offered | Yes — monthly and yearly | No — no subscription tier exists |
| Android ChatGPT app | No — use the web version | n/a — Trunk has no Android app, so the key has to be generated on an Apple device |
| App platforms | iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Apple Vision, Android, Wear OS, web | iPhone, iPad, Mac (Apple silicon), Apple Vision. No Android, no Wear OS, no Watch app |
| US App Store rating | 4.9 from 91K ratings (source) | 5.0 from 1 rating (new app) |
| Revoke the AI's access | Not documented — Hevy publishes a connect path, not a disconnect one | Revoke Key, in the Connect AI panel |
Prices in USD from the US App Store and ratings from Apple's lookup API, all verified 2026-09-07; prices, caps and rating counts change.
What each one costs over three years
This is where the two models separate. Hevy's free path genuinely costs nothing on the app side, which is a real advantage and worth saying out loud. The moment your split outgrows four routines, though, the cost becomes recurring unless you buy the lifetime tier.
| Setup | Up front | First 12 months | Three years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Free Hevy + HevyGPT (ChatGPT plan requirement not stated by Hevy) | Free | Free | Free |
| Free Trunk + Trunk+ + free assistant | $9.99 one-time | $9.99 | $9.99 |
| Hevy Pro yearly + HevyGPT | $23.99 | $23.99 | $71.97 |
| Hevy Pro monthly + HevyGPT | $2.99 | $35.88 | $107.64 |
| Hevy Pro Lifetime + HevyGPT | $74.99 one-time | $74.99 | $74.99 |
Hevy Pro ($2.99/mo, $23.99/yr, $74.99 one-time) and Trunk+ ($9.99 one-time) verified 2026-09-07 on the US App Store (Hevy, Trunk); multi-year totals are our own arithmetic. Hevy also runs a 50%-off-first-year promo on annual Pro for first-time subscribers a few times a year, with no dollar figure published, and says lifetime is never discounted (Hevy help center). USD, and subject to change.
Neither path forces you to pay an AI company. Free tiers of ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini are all $0, and that is the majority case for both apps. If you do pay for an assistant, you are paying for something you use for work and everything else, not for a fitness feature: ChatGPT Plus is $20/mo and Claude Pro is $20/mo, or $17/mo billed annually, verified 2026-09-07 (source, source). That distinction is the whole argument for bring-your-own-AI, and the wider market is broken down in what AI fitness apps actually cost.
The assistant you use decides more than the app does
Pick the app that matches your assistant, not the other way round.
| Assistant | Free plan | Opening a link you paste | HevyGPT | Trunk Connect AI |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| ChatGPT | $0 | Documented indirectly | Yes — not in the Android app | Yes |
| Claude | $0 | Documented; web search must be on | No | Yes |
| Gemini | $0 | Not documented; works in practice | No | Yes, per Trunk's developer |
Assistant free plans are $0 and paid tiers are USD, verified 2026-09-07 (ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini); plans and capabilities change. ChatGPT: web search is available on the Free plan (OpenAI help center) and OpenAI's bot docs say a ChatGPT-User agent "may visit a web page" when users ask about one (OpenAI bot docs). Claude: with web search enabled, Claude can retrieve full content from specific URLs you provide (Anthropic support). Gemini: Google publishes no page saying Gemini opens a URL you paste; its documented behavior is Google Search grounding (Google support), and the Gemini row above rests on Trunk's developer having run it. No vendor publishes a numeric free-tier browsing quota.
The practical takeaway: if ChatGPT is your assistant, HevyGPT is the smoother of the two, because nothing leaves the chat window. Lifters who live in Claude or Gemini have no HevyGPT option at all, and Trunk's plain-URL approach is the one that works for them. Step-by-step for the Claude case sits in getting a workout plan out of Claude.
Where each one wins
HevyGPT wins on
- Depth of integration: ChatGPT reads and writes without you copying a link anywhere.
- Cost of entry: $0 on the Hevy side, on a free account, with no Pro required.
- Maturity: 4.9 from 91K US App Store ratings, on an app that has been on Google Play since June 2019 (Google Play listing).
- Platform coverage: iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch, Apple Vision, Android, Wear OS, and a web app.
- Everything around the logger: a 400+ exercise library (Hevy's exercise library page), supersets, a social feed, CSV export, Apple Health sync and one-way Strava sync.
Trunk Connect AI wins on
- Assistant choice: Claude and Gemini users get a working path, not a workaround.
- No caps: free Trunk has unlimited profiles, sessions and exercises, so a six-day program imports as a six-day program.
- Price shape: $9.99 once for the AI connection, and no subscription tier exists anywhere in the app.
- Control: one tap revokes the key, and the account plus all data can be deleted from Settings with no waiting period. Hevy documents how to connect the integration but publishes nothing about disconnecting it, so this one is a difference in documentation as much as in product.
- Portability of the link: the same URL opens in a browser or any tool, with no custom GPT and no developer key.
Two honest concessions on the Trunk side. It is Apple-only — iPhone, iPad, Mac and Vision, with no Android and no Wear OS — so an Android lifter has no decision to make here. Newness is the other one: 5.0 from a single App Store rating is not social proof, and there is no Apple Watch app, no CSV export button, and no built-in exercise library with instruction videos. Hevy has all of that, plus roughly 91,000 US ratings behind it.
Hevy's other AI features, briefly
Three separate things get called Hevy AI, and they are not the same product.
- Hevy Trainer is the in-app program generator, and it is Pro-only. Hevy's help center is refreshingly direct that its programs are "generated using an algorithm and do not rely on AI" (Hevy help center, verified 2026-09-07). An 11-question intake feeds a rules engine, not a language model.
- Send workouts to ChatGPT and Claude arrived in iOS v3.1.12 on 2026-09-03 as a button on the finish-workout screen (App Store release notes). Its wording reads as a one-way push of a completed session, but no help-center article describes the mechanism, so treat it as a share rather than a live connection — and note that this is the one place Hevy names Claude.
- The public API is the path that lets an outside tool read your full history. Hevy's own API documentation states it is currently available to Hevy Pro users only, with the key generated in the web app (Hevy API docs, verified 2026-09-07). Those docs are labelled version 0.0.1 and carry an explicit no-guarantees warning. Community MCP servers that connect Claude to Hevy are built on that API; they are third-party projects, not Hevy products.
Add it up and the Hevy ChatGPT integration is genuinely good, while the Hevy Claude story is thin: a one-way share button, or a Pro subscription plus unofficial tooling you maintain yourself.
Who should pick which
Pick Hevy
You already have hundreds of Hevy workouts. Stay. Connect HevyGPT, keep lifting, and do not migrate a training history to save a few dollars. If your split needs more than four routines, Hevy Pro Lifetime at $74.99 buys the caps away permanently, and Hevy's help center says lifetime is never discounted, so waiting for a sale is pointless.
ChatGPT is your only assistant and you are on Android. Hevy, without question. Trunk has no Android app at all, and HevyGPT still works from the ChatGPT web version.
You want the exercise library, the watch app, the social feed and the polish. Hevy. Trunk does not compete on feature count and does not pretend to; its case is the price model and the fact that any assistant can read the data.
Pick Trunk
You use Claude or Gemini. Trunk is the straightforward option. HevyGPT will not talk to either one, and the Hevy alternative is Pro plus a community MCP server.
Your program needs five, six or seven training days. Trunk, or Hevy Pro. Free Hevy blocks the whole import once the plan has more than four unique workouts, and an AI that just designed a six-day program should not be stopped by the app's pricing tier.
You do not want another subscription. Trunk+ is $9.99 once and Trunk sells nothing else. Hevy's equivalent answer is the $74.99 lifetime tier, which is legitimate at 7.5 times the price — and it buys a far more complete app around it.
Still deciding how to wire an assistant to a log at all? Start with the overview of connecting ChatGPT to a workout tracker, which puts custom GPTs, MCP connectors, export-and-paste and plain URLs side by side.
Frequently asked questions
What happens to my routines if I stop paying for Hevy Pro?
Hevy's help center says downgrading never deletes data: routines, custom exercises and measurement history you already created stay viewable. You just cannot add past the free caps of four routines and seven custom exercises, and year and all-time stats go away until you resubscribe.
Do I need a paid ChatGPT account for HevyGPT?
Hevy does not say. Its HevyGPT page states that Hevy Pro is not required, but publishes no ChatGPT plan requirement, and HevyGPT lives inside ChatGPT on whatever account you already have. OpenAI's help center does say web search is available on the ChatGPT Free plan. HevyGPT does not run in the Android ChatGPT app, so Android users need the web version.
Does Hevy work with Claude or Gemini?
Only partly. HevyGPT is ChatGPT-only, and Hevy publishes no Claude or Gemini equivalent. Hevy v3.1.12, released 2026-09-03, added a button that sends a finished workout to ChatGPT or Claude, and reading your full history from an outside tool goes through Hevy's public API, which its docs say is available to Hevy Pro users only.
Can the AI read my workout history, or only write me a plan?
Both apps let it read. Hevy's feature page says ChatGPT can analyze your training history to recommend loads once the integration is active. Trunk's Connect AI link exposes every logged set, including reps, weight, volume, notes, timestamp and plate configuration, to whichever assistant opens it.
Is Hevy's own AI actually AI?
Hevy Trainer, the in-app program generator, is Pro-only, and Hevy's help center says its programs are generated using an algorithm and do not rely on AI. The language-model part of Hevy lives in HevyGPT, inside ChatGPT.
What does Trunk Connect AI cost, and is there a subscription?
Trunk+ is a single $9.99 one-time purchase that unlocks Connect AI, per the US App Store listing verified 2026-09-07, and Trunk has no subscription tier at all. You supply the assistant, and the free tiers of ChatGPT, Claude and Gemini are $0.